New FrostWire 4.21.8

A new FrostWire for Desktop is out with lots and lots of bug fixes that had a long time coming as well as some new policies to better protect you from sharing unwanted files by mistake.

New UI Elements have been added or modified for your convenience and better understanding of the application.

Take a look at the changes on the File Menu, and all the better explained Sharing options for Gnutella files as for Torrent Seeding control.


With the changes done to the File Menu, many new users will easily know how to completly shutdown FrostWire if they want to, no need to right click the FrostWire Icon on the Icon Tray if you want to leave.

We also changed the wording from “Download Torrent/Magnet” to “Open Torrent/Magnet” to better follow the old school tradition of File -> Open across many software applications.

One bug that had a long time coming had to do with choosing your Torrent Data Save Folder path, now you’ll be able to select an external drive if that’s where you choose to save your Torrent Data files, thanks to all the people on the forum that reminded us of these and many other issues.


Now, from the Library you can intuitively find the Sharing Options with a new “Options” button that’ll take you to the Sharing Options of the application. Also, you will be able to see the files downloaded via BitTorrent on the Library Tree Node named “Torrent Saved Files”

Updated Policies

When you go through the configuration Wizard, you will see a clear difference between your “Save Folder” and your “Shared Folder”. You will be able to choose wether or not you want to share gnutella downloads as individual files or not. By default you won’t be sharing finished downloads. Incomplete files will also not be shared by default.

Also, if you decide to not share new finished downloads, all previously shared individual downloads that were on the default Saved folder won’t be shared any more.

Your Torrent Data Folder cannot be shared in Gnutella. This is to avoid any inconsistencies that may arise when a user doesn’t want to seed a torrent. We have tried to make a clear distinction between Gnutella Sharing and BitTorrent Seeding.

You can now choose wether or not you want to seed finished torrents or not. By default you will be seeding torrents but you’ll be able to turn this off during the configuration wizard. We have made this decision so that you’re not catalogued as a “Leech” by torrent trackers and you have the best experience when it comes to using bittorrent.

Spam Results are also now hidden by default. You will know how many results are being hidden by looking at the numbers on your Search Result Tab Title. If you see something like “my keywords (7/234)” on the title, that means that you’re looking at 7 results and 234 Spam results detected and hidden from you for a better experience. You can always display Junk Results by Going to Tools -> Options -> FIlters -> Junk -> Display.

Also, you can now Block malicious hosts right after marking their Search Results as Spam, no need to right click on them after you’ve marked them as Spam, FrostWire will show you the option to block malicious hosts if you haven’t blocked them already.

A lot more coming, stay tuned.

4.21.8 Changelog

frostwire (4.21.8) stable; urgency=high
* Fixes a possible freeze reported by some users when the configuration
wizard is shown.
* Fixes issue when a user changes default Gnutella Save Folder
and unchecks Sharing finished downloads. Individually shared
files from the old Save Folder would still be shared.
Now all individually shared files will be unshared if you uncheck
this setting.
* Now users don’t have to re-start to stop seeding after they’ve changed
their torrent Seeding Configuration. All torrents old and new will stop
seeding as soon as the setting is applied.
* Better wording to explain on which networks files are being shared on,
Gnutella or BitTorrent.
* Changed color of “Sharing Options” gear icon to blue, gray
icon may have seemed as if the button was disabled.
* Added “Sharing Options” gear button on Search Tab. It’s only visible
once a search has been started.
* Added Help Menu options to learn about how to share/unshare files,
torrent seeding, and how to avoid being scammed into paying for
FrostWire. DO NOT PAY FOR FROSTWIRE.

— FrostWire Team Thu, 16 May 2011 17:40:20 -0500

frostwire (4.21.7) stable; urgency=high

* Makes sure cancelling torrents that have finished are not deleted.
* Folders created by torrents that are cancelled during download are deleted to avoid any unwanted file sharing.
* Fixes a bug when migrating from an older version of FrostWire on which previously Saved and individually shared files would still be shared after not sharing finished downloads on the migration wizard.
* Fixes a bug on configuration screens that could make the application freeze for a few seconds before moving towards the next screen.
* Migration wizard will always be shown to make sure users are aware of what they’re sharing.
* Sharing completed files is always set to off by default on the configuration wizard.

— FrostWire Team Thu, 16 May 2011 17:10:25 -0500

4.21.6 Changelog

frostwire (4.21.6) stable; urgency=high

* Fixes a bug where some Debian systems that didn’t support the Icon Tray would crash on startup.
* Fixes a bug where running FrostWire for the very first time (and later) display Uploads number -1 in the bottom status bar.
* UX improvement Junk & Block. When marking Junk Results UI offers to block malicious hosts that haven’t blocked already.
* Policy update, Incomplete files are not shared by default to avoid sharing files you started downloading and didn’t want.
* Policy update, Finished downloads are not shared by default to avoid confusion between files on Shared folder versus files on Save folder.
* UX improvement, better explanation and option to turn on/off individual sharing of finished downloads (that end up in Saved Folder) during FrostWire setup wizard.
* UX improvement, when user turns off Finished Download sharing those files that were shared as individual files inside the ‘Saved Folder’ will not be shared anymore.
* UX improvement, File menu now has option to Exit FrostWire completely.
* UX improvement, File menu now says “Open Torrent/Magnet” instead of “Download Torrent/Magnet” for clarity.
* Bug Fix: The Torrent Save folder is now considered correctly, now users can set a Torrent Save folder on external drives.
* Bug Fix: Slideshow component had an issue where it would not update correctly the URL of the currently displayed slice if it had issues fetching the image file, this could in turn sometimes cause 100% CPU utilization.

— FrostWire Team Thu, 5 May 2011 11:03:14 -0500

About FrostWire
“FrostWire is a Peer-to-Peer file sharing program for the Gnutella network and BitTorrent protocol. It is built on the Limewire source code, and it is written in the Java programming language. Development of the program has been active since the program was first released in September 2004.” Wikipedia.

Download FrostWire

Do not pay for FrostWire, FrostWire is absolutely Free as in Free Beer

49 thoughts on “New FrostWire 4.21.8

  1. I upgraded to v4.21.6 and all of my original saved and Incomplete files disappeared. They are completely gone. I did not expect that from this update. Not sure what to do with that. Did you expect that result?

    1. your files should not be gone, however your “Individually Shared Files” have been unshared after the update after a change in policies.

      It’s probably not your case, but we want to make sure the majority of users are not sharing finished download files without knowing so, therefore this update will unshare individual files.

      Now, your files should still be on disk, just not shared.

      As for Incomplete files, they should still be there as well, just not shared.

  2. Thank you for responding. I performed a search on my system to find any of the 724 completed files on my computer. They are not there. I have more memory space on my drive. They are gone.

    I discovered that the Library page flickers. The menu on the left-hand side of the screen flickers and you can not select any of the options. I have downloaded some new files and I can not select them to share them. I restarted Frostwire and the problem is still there. I am using Windows XP, SP3. I did not have any problems until now.

    I have noticed the faster downloading speed. Files are downloading faster than before. I love that.

    I would appreciate any help to continue the wonderful Frostwire experience I had before today.

  3. Instale la version 4.21.6. No tengo errores en la instalacion . Pero luego de esto, al ingresar al programa despliega el mensaje” WELCOME welcome to the frostwire setup wizard. Frostwire has recently added new features that require your configuration….” y se queda esperando una conexion o respuesta, pero no responde a ninguna tecla ni da opcion alguna, solo muestra el icono X de salir que si ejecuta. Cual sera el inconveniente? Desde ya muchas gracias

  4. I’ve been having a similar problem with files disappearing. I’ll complete a download and click on the completed file, it will work fine but when I clear it from the downloading list the entire file disappears. It’s happened more than once now and it’s beyond frustrating.

  5. I upgrade 2 v4.21.6 and none think had happy It been 2days sient and still none think all I have is a blink screed. I try 2 redownloading it again and still the samethink a blink screed.

  6. Ever since 4.21.6 AVG wipes out FrostWire because of a malware known as OpenCandy. As soon as I load it the Resident Shield grabs it and wipes it out completely before I can add the file that is setting it off and deletes the entire executable file. Any way you could put a fix on your system to stop that?

    1. This is a false positive by AVG and OpenCandy is working on it.
      I believe there should be a way to have AVG not consider OpenCandy as “malware”, check if there’s a way to reduce how strict it is when it’s scanning and exclude certain possible threats.

  7. SEARCH RESULTS PROBLEM after upgrading to FW 4.21.7

    I just upgraded to the new FW version and now it seems like my search results are showing fewer and fewr results for common songs. I even went through my connections, browsing to see which ones need to be removed.
    Ive restarted my computer twice and have disconnected and reconnected FW several times but I still have the same problem with my search results not showing me all of the songs it finds.

    Please HELP!!!

  8. I have been trying to download the latest version of Frostwire and I can only get as far as the setup wizard page which is blank. I have the latest version of Java installed so I know that’s not the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  9. I’m truly dissapointed because I was downloading Music with an older version today but as soon as I loaded an upgrade sent by you, The 4.21.7 opens to a configuration screen that does Nothing!!!!! I can’t get the application to work!!! What Do You Suggest?

    1. did u figure out how to do fix this??? Mine is doing the exact same thing….I can’t get it to work anymore…so frustrating!!!!

  10. I just upgraded and now it says in the cdownload component section which things to download, and the application (required) is not checked… I upgraded Jave, still get the Welcome to frostwire setup and a blank screen, help…..

  11. it wont let me go pass the saved or share folders well it wont let me continue on to the next step , what do i do ?

  12. I simply hate frostwire! It is the worst thing I ever downloaded on my computer, since limewire got kicked off the internet! Everytime I go to download something I either get some dumb download with a man on it saying ” as part of a lime wire…” whatever the hell!!!! Or I’ll get something that says I need more sources! Somebody better fix this, or we’re gonna have a problem, because this is ridiculous!!!!!

  13. I updated to the 4.21.7 version, as I was having some difficulties with .6. Since I updated to the new version, I’m finding that searching has become nearly impossible. My search results are few and far between and then ones they do find are plugs insisting that FW is an illegal application and that I’ve won a free iPad or something. I’ve tried restarting the application, my computer, and even changed around file sharing settings on my computer. Nothing seems to change it.

  14. My FrostWire says “Starting Connection” but it doesn’t seem to connect. What should I do?

  15. It connected once, and now i have also “Starting Connection” but it doesn’t seem to connect. ”

    I applied the tcp-patch and have set the max tcp-connections from 10 to 100. No result with frostwire connections.

  16. I downloaded 4.21.8 and it is working very well though every artist that I downloaded got the same result, a whole bunch of files that gave me a message about what I won through the settlement. So several hundred worthless files. I think it is time to give up on FrostWire, this is three versions in a row that either would not load or net a whole lot of crap.

    1. Use the “Mark as Junk” button everytime you find undesired results. FrostWire will learn, the more you use that button the better results you will get. Also try disconnecting and connecting if you are getting too many junk results.

    1. click on “Next” at the bottom of the Wizard Window (not on the link to this page)

      Make sure you’re running FrostWire 4.21.8 or higher, there was a bug on 4.21.7 where some users had the wizard frozen. This was fixed for 4.21.8.

    2. I tried “upgrading” also and I can’t get passed Torrent Data Folder cannot be inside the Gnutella Save Folder Frostwire……
      How do I fix that so my Frostwire can LOAD……….
      It won’t budge from there at all…….
      Thank you

  17. Same problem…..consistently states that “more sources needed”….
    If there were bugs, glitches in the newest version, why put it out for the public until you knew it was CONSISTENTLY working???

    1. “More sources needed” is not a bug. You’re just trying to download a file that has not enough sources or you have connectivity problems.
      This release fixes other bugs.

      Try going to the “Connections” tab and removing all the connections, FrostWire should fetch more connections.

      You can also try right Clicking on the Turbo Charged indicator and “Refresh Connections”

      It’s a p2p network, conditions change wildly as people connect and disconnect. Try to download files with lots of sources to have a better chance.

      The app is consistently working for a large number of people, but like everything it’s not perfect. Every update it gets better and better.

  18. I lownloaded frostwire 4.21.8, though at the bottom on the left corner all it says is “starting connection” with one green bar. I have disconnected then connected it, and restarted my internet, but is still says the same thing. How do I fix it? I cannot download any songs because of this.

  19. Trying to download FW for the first time. when I get to the screen thats asks to check what I want to download the main program, that says it is required is not active, it is checked but not highlighted, if you download anyway it says cant launch and to redownload FW???? tried to download with Win7 and xp?

  20. The last 3 updates have turned Frostwire to junk, all its doing is taking up space on my computer. I get next to zero results for any search, and if i do get anything at all its a setlement snippet. Thank you Frostwire for becoming worthless.

  21. Nevermind. I just made a new folder instead of using the old one to save in. Works perfectly now.

  22. Anyone having problems downloading content now?
    All I get is the Limewire lawsuit message and no song.
    Damn annoying!!!!!!!!
    Is Frostwire not viable now? I’m thinking of uninstalling it.

    1. If you’re getting too much spam, try FrostWire 5 BETA, there’s a signup link at the bottom of http://www.frostwire.com once accepted you’ll be able to get the installer. No spam search results.

  23. i downloaded frostwire 4.21.8 and all i get is this stupid screen saying frostwire setup wizard saying that it will give me directions on how to finish installing this piece of crap and no buttons for directions for me to follow. what is up with that? someone better tell me how to get it up and running so that i can get back to downloading my music.

  24. this version has worked great for me … no download glitches, the only thing so far that i’ve had problems with is changing my skins. no big deal obviously, but none of the MAC OS X skins will work on my mac. doesn’t make sense right? asks me to restart the application, yet still doesn’t show?

  25. i have the new version the 5.7 something or whatever for my mac book but idk how to search for songs it stays on torrents n i dont even know what a torent is can sme1 help me

    1. just add the word ” mp3″ at the end of your search and you’ll be searching only for torrents that contain .mp3 files in them.

      When you see results, you can expand them by clicking on the [+] icon next to the result name. Then you can filter the contents of the result by typing for whatever you are looking for.

  26. when i try to search for a song i can’t narrow my search down to audio like the other frost wires, maybe im missing something, can anyone help?

Comments are closed.